- Troy, NY USA


Kristin Bennett

  • Associate Director of the IDEA
  • Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, Madison, 1993

    M.S., University of Wisconsin, Madison, 1989

    B.S., University of Puget Sound, 1985



Francine Berman

  • Edward P. Hamilton Distinguished Professor of Computer Science
  • Ph.D. in Mathematics from University of Washington; M.A. in Mathematics from University of Washington; B.A. in Mathematics from University of California, Los Angeles

Jonas Braasch

Curt Breneman

  • Dean of the School of Science, Professor
  • Ph.D. in Chemistry at UC Santa Barbara (with an emphasis on Physical Organic and Computational Chemistry) 1987

Selmer Bringsjord

Christopher D. Carothers

  • Director, CCI
  • Ph.D., Computer Science Georgia Institute of Technology, September 1997

Jonathan S. Dordick

  • Vice President for Research and Howard P. Isermann Professor
  • Ph.D. Biochemical Engineering (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1983), M.S. Biochemical Engineering (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1983), B.A. Biochemistry and Chemistry (Brandeis University, 1980)

Stanley M Dunn

  • Professor, Vice Provost, Dean Graduate Education
  • PhD, Vrije University te Amsterdam, the Netherlands, 1993 PhD Computer Science, University of Maryland, 1985 MS Computer Science, Univeristy of Maryland, 1983 BS Electrical Engineering, Drexel University, 1979 BS Computer Science, Drexel University, 1979

Peter Fox

  • Tetherless World Constellation Chair
  • B.Sc. (Hons I), Monash University, Mathematics Ph.D. Monash University, Mathematics

Shekhar Garde

  • Dean of School of Engineering, Elaine and Jack S. Parker Professor
  • Ph.D. Chemical Engineering, University of Delaware, 1997.

    B.S. Chemical Engineering, University of Bombay, 1992.

Vivek Ghosal

  • Department Head and Virginia and Lloyd W. Rittenhouse Professor
  • Ph.D., Economics, Warrington College of Business, University of Florida, Gainesville, 1988

    MA, Economics, Delhi School of Economics, Delhi, India, 1983

Juergen Hahn

  • Professor & Department Head
  • Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin, (2002)

    M.S., University of Texas at Austin, (1998)

    Diploma, RWTH Aachen, Germany, (1997)

Jim Hendler

  • Director, Institute for Data Exploration and Applications and Tetherless World Chair of Computer, Web and Cognitive Sciences
  • PhD Computer Science, Brown Univ, 1986.

Jose Holguin-Veras

  • William H. Hart Chair Professor
  • Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin Transportation M.S., Universidad Central de Venezuala Transportation B.S., Universidad Autonoma de Santo Domingo Civil Engineering

Robert Hull

  • Henry Burlage Jr. Professor of Engineering and Director of Center for Materials, Devices, and Integrated Systems
  • Ph.D., Oxford University Department of Metallurgy and Materials Science; B.A., Oxford University Physics

Jennifer M. Hurley

  • Assistant Professor
  • B.S. Molecular Biology and Politics, Juniata College (2004); Ph.D. Molecular Genetics, Microbiology and Immunology, Rutgers/UMDNJ (2009); P.Ph.D. Genetics and Biochemistry, Dartmouth (2015)

Johannes Goebel

Heng Ji

  • Edward P. Hamilton Development Chair Professor
  • B.A. and M.A. Computational Linguistics, Tsinghua University; M.S. and Ph.D. Computer Science, New York University

Jason Nicholas Kuruzovich

  • Academic Director of the Severino Center for Technological Entrepreneurship, Associate Professor
  • Ph.D. in Information Systems, University of Maryland; B.S. in Chemical Engineering, Lafayette College

Deborah McGuinness

  • Tetherless World Senior Constellation Chair
  • Ph.D., Knowledge Representation, Rutgers University

    M.S., Computer Science, University of California at Berkeley

    B.S., Computer Science, Duke University

    B. A., Mathematics, Duke University

Dorit Nevo

  • Associate Professor
  • Ph.D. in Management Information Systems, Sauder School of Business, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada; M.Sc. in Economics, Technion, Haifa, Israel; B.A. in Economics and Business Administration, University of Haifa, Haifa, Israel.

Jennifer Pazour

  • Assistant Professor
  • Ph.D. Industrial Engineering, University of Arkansas, 2011

    M.S. Industrial Engineering, University of Arkansas, 2008

    B.S. Industrial Engineering, Mathematics Minor, South Dakota School of Mines and Technology, 2006

T. Ravichandran (Ravi)

  • Irene and Robert Bozzone '55 Distinguished Chair, Professor of Information Systems, Associate Dean for Research
  • Ph.D., Southern Illinois University, Carbondale; PG Diploma (Industrial and System Engineering) National Productivity Council, India; B.E. (Production Engineering) University of Madras, India

Rick Relyea

  • David M. Darrin ’40 Senior Endowed Chair; Director, Darrin Fresh Water Institute; Director, Jefferson Project
  • Ph.D., Univ. of Michigan

    M.S. Texas Tech Univ.


Karyn Rogers

  • Assistant Professor
  • Ph.D. in Earth and Planetary Sciences, Washington University, 2006

    A.M.  in Earth and Planetary Sciences, Washington University, 2001

    M.S. in Geological & Environmental Sciences, Stanford University, 2001

    A.B in Environmental Science & Public Policy and Earth & Planetary Sciences, Harvard University, 1996

Johnson Samuel

  • Associate Professor
  • Ph.D. (Mechanical Eng.) - University of Illinois, Urbana Champaign (2009)

Donald Schwendeman

  • Professor, Department Head
  • B.S.E., Aerospace Engineering, University of Michigan, 1981

    Ph.D., Applied Mathematics, California Institute of Technology, 1986

Patricia Search

  • Director, Center for Global Communication+Design and Professor
  • M.A., Art, Goddard College

    B.S., Art, Skidmore College 

Mei Si

  • Associate Professor
    • Ph.D., Computer Science, University of Southern California
    • M.S., Computer Science, University of Arizona
    • M.A., Psychology, University of Cincinnati
    • B.S., Psychology, Peking University (P. R. China)

Chad Stecher

Bolek Szymanski

  • Claire & Roland Schmitt Distinguished Prof. of Computer Science
  • M.Sc. (Electronics) – Faculty of Electronics and Information Technology, Warsaw University of Technology, Warsaw, Poland, 1973; Ph.D. (Computer Science) – The Institute of Computer Science, Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw, Poland, 1976 Postdoc (Computer Science) - University of Aberdeen, U.K., 1979.network science

Deepak Vashishth

  • Director of Center for Biotechnology & Interdisciplinary Studies and Professor
  • Ph.D., University of London Biomedical Materials M.S., West Virginia University Mechanical Engineering B.S., Malviya National Institute of Technology (MNIT) Mechanical Engineering

William Wallace

  • Yamada Corporation Professor
  • PhD/MS, Management Science, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Troy, NY and BChE, Illinois Institute of Technology, Chicago, IL


Lirong Xia

  • Assistant Professor
  • Ph.D. Computer Science, Duke University

    M.A. Economics, Duke University

    B.E. Computer Science and Technology, Tsinghua University, Beijing, China

Bulent Yener

  • Director, Data Science Research Center
  • PhD in Computer Science from Columbia University in 1994.

Mohammed J. Zaki

  • Professor
  • B.S., Computer Science and Mathematics (dual), May 1993, Angelo State University, San Angelo, Texas M.S., Computer Science, May 1995, University of Rochester, Rochester, New York Ph.D., Computer Science, July 1998, University of Rochester, Rochester, New York